OISI Staff Spotlight- Taylor Nugent, Financial Counselor

Friday, December 18th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Taylor with her fiance’ Jordan

1. How long have you been with OISI and what do you do here/ title?
I started July 3, 2017, so I have been with the Orthopaedic Institute for 3 & 1/2 years and I currently work with Financial Counseling.

2. Favorite part of your job?
One of my favorite things about working at OISI would have to be that I get to work in the same facility as my parents!  I love being able to help patients out with their needs and give them comfort and the best answer and help possible with what materials I’ve been given.  My parents have been employees here at the Orthopaedic Institute for 19 years so I definitely feel like this place has been my second home for quite some time.  There is never a dull moment around here and everyone try’s to help each other out as much as possible!

3. Tell us something that might surprise us about you. 
Something that might surprise you about myself is that I played college golf for Rend Lake and John A Long College. I’d love to move to Australia for a few years to be around my father’s family who is one of fifteen!  I also had three foreign exchange students growing up from Spain that I am still very close to and have visited once in Spain for The Running of the Bulls and also took a trip to France with the girls.

4. Favorite thing to do in Southern IL?
My favorite thing to do in Southern Illinois is taking the doors off our Jeep and hit the wine trails in the fall, spend time with my family and my fiancé by our pool in the summer, along with a visit or two to the Custard Stand in Sesser, walks with our dogs, Inspiration Point with a packed picnic lunch,  I can’t say no to a trip to Logan’s Road House and Fujiyama’s Japanese Steak House, and I love to have bonfires with our friends when they are in town!

5. If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?
If I could learn to do anything, I would learn to fly an airplane.

6. What are 3 words you’d use to describe OISI?
Three words I would use to describe OISI would be family, caring, and patient.  The Orthopaedic Institute has taught me so much already in the 3 & 1/2 years I’ve been here.  It’s taught me to be more compassionate, to truly take a step back and evaluate how one is feeling and how I might be able to help them even if it just a listening ear or talking a patient through a bad moment they had before they even arrived here to be seen.

7. If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you’d do
If I won the lottery the first thing I would do is fly all my American family to be with my Australian family so that for once I’d be able to spend time in one place with everyone who means so much to me.  I’m currently 23 and have been to Australia four times in my life which I have been so fortunate to be able to experience but would love to make it a more frequent trip to spend time with my other side of my family.

8. What do you do in your free time? Any crafts, hobbies, etc.
In my year of 2020 free time, I enjoy playing with my two golden doodles, Lily & Zepelin, and planning my “second” wedding due to COVID with my fiancé, Jordan.

back to top


Category: What's New


Leave a Reply




Stay Connected: